Mike and Nina

Dear Expectant Mother,

Thank you for taking the time to get to know us! We are excited to grow our family through the adoption process and have learned so much through the Adoption Center for Family Building (you are in GREAT hands). We understand that adoption is a difficult process and admire you for your bravery and willingness to consider adoption as an option for your child. Supporting you and building relationships through the adoption process is a priority for us. We are grateful that you are interested in learning about our values, families, and community, and we look forward to getting to know you!

About Us

We met in high school at a choir competition in Michigan; however, it took roughly three years
for our friendship to mature into a loving partnership. We started dating in 2007 and got married in
2011 (most of that time was long-distance!). A lot has happened in our marriage, but throughout that
time, we have done nothing but support each other, growing professionally, emotionally, and

Along the way, we adopted two dogs: Abby, the Boston Terrier, and Samson, the half Boxer, half Boston Terrier. They were such welcome additions to our family, and we had many wonderful adventures together; however, both have since passed. They live fondly in our hearts, and we are currently looking for the right dogs to go on new adventures with.
We live in a suburb outside of Indianapolis and own a three-bedroom, two-bath home. We have lived here for over a decade and love our home and community! We enjoy heading into Indianapolis to visit Nina’s sisters and their partners. All together, we enjoy exploring breweries, restaurants, museums, parks, and local shopping. Additionally, we love doing escape rooms, playing games (all types of games), hanging out by the pool, and spending quality time together.

About Nina

I am 35 years old and LOVE learning. I grew up along the southwest coast of Michigan and was
very active in the church community, school, music, and other extracurricular activities. I was part of the
show choir, dance team, marching band/color guard, musicals, but I also played tennis with my mom
and sisters and swam regularly (Mike and I met for the second time at the YMCA where he was a
lifeguard and I swam, but that’s a story for another time). I have two younger sisters who also live in the
Indianapolis area with their partners.

From a very early age, I have demonstrated a passion for helping and caring for others. With
these callings in my life, I pursued nursing as my profession. I obtained my Bachelor of Science in
Nursing in 2009, my Master’s in Nursing Education in 2016, and my Doctor of Education in 2022. I
currently work as an Assistant Professor of Nursing, and love what I do because I am continuously
learning something new! This love of learning extends into my personal life- I love games, trivia, and
learning new cooking skills like making homemade bread, butter, and seasoned salts. Additionally,
things like knitting, music, and TV/movies help keep me engaged and my mind/hands occupied. Finally,
one of my absolute FAVORITE things to do is read. I primarily enjoy fiction and LOVE getting lost in a
world and story. My preferred method is to listen to books so I can cook, clean, get ready, listen in the
car, etc., but we have a healthy library of physical books that we enjoy using.

About Mike

I am 37 years old, and never tire of new experiences. During childhood, I moved from the east
coast of New Jersey to the suburbs of Washington D.C. to Wisconsin (where I fell in love with marching
band and cheese) to Michigan, where I would finally meet Nina in High School. I went to Central
Michigan University and earned a Bachelor of Science in Music. During summers home from college, I
would work different jobs and spend as much time as possible with my favorite people. It was during
these summers that I spent the most time with Nina, enjoying our friendship. Finally, there came a
summer when both of us were ready to devote ourselves exclusively to each other.

I am an avid gamer, and not just of video games, but board and card games as well. One of the things I
did with my family almost every night was playing canasta, or one of the many board games, with my
parents and sister, Rachel. This sparked a lifelong love of games, and I make it a priority to play games
with my family and friends.

I work as a maintenance technician at a local factory where I repair industrial machinery and robotics. It
is a challenging and rewarding job that keeps me mentally and physically active. When I’m not working, I
enjoy exploring Indianapolis on dates with Nina, especially to museums, parks, and new restaurants.
More than anything, I love spending time with friends and family. I host a monthly game night with a
group of friends to play the newest game and eat good food.

About Our Family

Both Mike’s parents and Nina’s mom and stepdad live in the southwest Michigan region. Lake
Michigan (and water in general) has played a big role in our relationship, with our first kiss having been
on the beach! Mike’s parents are heavily involved in their church, and they also love to volunteer for
various arts- and music-related pursuits. Mike’s mom works part-time in a Chiropractic office and
teaches piano lessons for local homeschooled students, and his dad works as a nuclear engineer.

Nina’s mom and stepdad enjoy traveling to visit their children and are also heavily involved in their
church. Her mom is a high school teacher, and stepdad is a 911 dispatch manager. To round out the
parents are Nina’s dad and stepmom, who live in Florida. Both are retired nuclear engineers and enjoy
visiting their children in Indianapolis, playing canasta with their neighbors, and generally enjoying
retirement. They all are very excited to welcome their new grandchild/niece or nephew into the family!

Thank You

We want to thank you for taking the time to get to know us further. We would be thrilled to talk
with you about support, relationships, community, and our values/beliefs. We would be honored to
walk this journey with you and will respect whatever level of contact you are most comfortable with.
Please know that you and your baby are already valued and loved by us!

To learn more about us, please feel free to contact us at MikeandNinaACFB@gmail.com or you
can reach out to our adoption counselor, Linda Fiore by texting/calling (773-919-5702), or e-mail

With Gratitude,
Nina and Mike