Beth and Michael


We are Beth and Michael, a happily married couple in our mid-30s living near Lafayette, Indiana. We’ve been married for six years and are excited to be starting our family through adoption. As excited as we are about adoption, we think about your situation and imagine what an emotional and difficult time this is for you. We hope this letter will paint a picture of our life together and the loving and committed family we can offer your baby. Thank you for taking the time to learn more about us.

Should you select us as your child’s adoptive parents, you can trust us to make the life-long commitment to nurture, support, provide for, and cherish him or her. We would love to have an open and ongoing relationship with you and will always speak of you with great respect.

About us:

We met on a blind date in 2007, when Beth was finishing graduate school at Purdue and Michael was starting his career in Lafayette, Indiana. Our friends set us up because we have so much in common…we both have graduate degrees in mechanical engineering and are both from Kansas. And the rest is history! We were married in 2008. Our friends and family showered us with wheat as we left the church, fitting since Beth’s dad and brothers finished wheat harvest shortly before the rehearsal dinner. When it came time to starting a family, we turned to adoption after learning we are unable to have children ourselves. Our journey to parenthood has actually been a blessing. Our relationship has been strengthened, we’ve received tremendous support from our friends and family, and we feel ready to be parents!

About Beth:

I was raised on a farm in rural Kansas, the same farm my family has lived on for over a century. I have two younger brothers, Craig and Paul, and love being “Aunt Beth” to our niece, Anna (age 3), and nephews, Cole (nearly a year) and Isaac (a few months younger than Cole). When we’re together we play the piano, read books, color, and work puzzles.

I work as a research analyst for a medical device company and occasionally teach at Purdue University. I have flexible work hours and can be equally productive in the office or working from home. I’m looking forward to having lots of time to spend with our child. I enjoy running, sewing, crocheting, gardening, and cooking. A favorite summertime recipe is zucchini bread made from fresh-from-the-garden zucchini. I also enjoy spending time with Michael in his shop, handing him wrenches as he works on his cars.

About Michael:

I was also raised in a small community in Kansas. I have an older sister, Michelle, and my parents are both small business owners. My sister and brother-in-law, Mike, have two kids, Zach and Alle. Mike introduced me to what has become a lifelong hobby, working on cars, and I look forward to sharing this interest with our child. My current project is rebuilding an early-80s Ford Mustang and my next project may be restoring the 1950 Chevrolet pickup that belonged to Beth’s grandpa. My other hobbies include watching college basketball, especially the Kansas Jayhawks, and watching NFL football.
I work as a mechanical engineer for a large engine manufacturer. I enjoy the technical challenges of my job and appreciate the stability and financial security it provides my family.

Our extended family:

Your baby will welcomed by three great-grandparents, four grandparents, and a host of aunts, uncles, and cousins, all of whom are eager to shower tons of attention on this precious child. Our parents, siblings, nieces, and nephews live in Kansas. We see them several times a year and utilize FaceTime to keep us connected between in-person visits. We also make regular trips to visit Beth’s grandparents in Arizona.

Our home and community:

We recently built a 3-bedroom house on several acres of land outside of Lafayette, Indiana. We have a large backyard for our dogs, Avery (a bulldog) and Amos (a beagle), to run and play and for a future swing set or playhouse.
The greater Lafayette area, home to Purdue University, is a great place to raise a family. There are excellent schools, numerous parks, Division I sports (we have season tickets to Purdue volleyball games), a large multicultural community, and access to national entertainment. Lafayette is also an easy drive to both Indianapolis and Chicago.

Our lifestyle and traditions:

The kitchen is the heart of our home and we make family dinners a priority. When we’re not enjoying a home-cooked meal, we seek out an interesting place to eat. For example, we recently visited a neighboring town and discovered a historic sandwich shop that serves amazing French fries. We also trade weekly dinners with our good friends, Kevin and Emily. Kevin and Emily’s young son, Harrison (nearly a year), thinks Michael is the coolest (and appreciates the crawling lessons).

We’re betting Harrison will be your baby’s first best friend! We are members of a Methodist church and are involved in the congregation, including teaching Sunday School to 4- and 5-year-olds and tutoring K-12 students in the community. Our holiday traditions include spending Christmas Eve with Beth’s family, spending Christmas Day with Michael’s family, and whipping up quite the menu for Thanksgiving dinner. We also make annual trips to the Smoky Mountains.

We would love to hear from you!

To learn more about us, please e-mail us at You may also call our adoption counselor, Tobi, at 1-800-869-1005 or contact Tobi by text at 847-366-6351 or by e-mail at We wish you the very best and we look forward to hearing from you,

Beth and Michael