Josh and Kourtni

Dear Friend,
Thank you so much for taking the time to learn about our family. Although we have never met, we have been praying for you. We admire your strength and courage as you make the difficult decision of choosing adoptive parents for your precious baby. We feel honored to be considered for such a role. We hope that by reading our profile you will get a feel for the love that we have for each other, and the love and security that we’re able to give your child.

Our Story
We are Kourtni (30) and Josh (38). We both grew up in Michigan, attended college in Utah, and currently live in central Indiana. If there is one thing we have learned in our 11 fun-filled years together, it’s that God has His own plans!

We have always known that adoption would be a part of our lives, but our story is a bit different. We have been blessed with 3 wonderful children, but each of Kourtni’s pregnancies presented serious health challenges. We have always wanted a large family but our doctors advised us that another pregnancy would pose too many risks. We KNOW that our family is not yet complete, and we are so excited to finally embark on our long-anticipated adoption journey!

About Josh {by Kourtni}
Josh is fun, outgoing, and has a zest for life. He enjoys music, playing basketball, grilling, rooting for the Michigan football team, and anything to do with power tools. He is truly a family man. He still surprises me with flowers and small gifts for no reason at all.

Josh is the BEST dad, the kind who reads bedtime stories and plays catch in the backyard. His flexible schedule in IT allows him to participate in life’s big moments {like the first day of school} and the little moments {like family dinners}. He has a big heart and is always looking for ways to help others. He serves as the choir director at our church and often helps out in the children’s program. Any child would be lucky to have a dad like Josh.

About Kourtni {by Josh}
Kourtni is an absolutely AMAZING woman with many talents! She enjoys photography, blogging, reading, running, travelling, and decorating. I love her smile and infectious laugh. Her sense of adventure, gentle touch, and courage to try new things all help make her an awesome mom! Kourtni is able to stay home with the kids, and it’s been a blessing to our family. It’s allowed her to share her passions with our children. She works tirelessly to provide different activities for the kids to enjoy. Whether it’s going out to the library, park, or pool or staying at home to bake cookies or play with friends, the kids look forward to their fun activities.

About the kids
Kylie (9) is the most fashionable tomboy you’ll ever see. When she’s not riding her bike or climbing a tree, she can be found reading a stack of books or sketching her latest fashion design. She enjoys gymnastics and attending bi-weekly activities at church. Kylie is tenderhearted and can’t wait to be a big sister to another little one.

Summer (6) can be described as sunshine personified. Her smile can light up any room. She is kind and always eager to help Mom & Dad. Her favorite activities include perfecting her tumbling, writing stories, and playing with her little brother.

Jackson (3) is all boy. He loves jumping on the trampoline, riding his scooter, and playing with his hot wheels cars. He can hardly wait to turn 4 and begin preschool! He adores babies and will be such a devoted big brother.

Our adventures
We typically stay close to home throughout the week. We play games in the yard, visit various parks, and attend church on Sundays. Our “zone chart” divides up the daily chores so we can work as a team to keep our house clean and care for our silver lab, Roscoe. We enjoy having cookouts at home with friends, attending local fairs and festivals, and exploring various parts of Indiana. We tend to take at least one “big trip” a year and have made memories in Washington D.C., Louisville, Chicago, Carolina Beach, and Houston. We make regular visits to Michigan and enjoy spending time at the lake with our parents, siblings, and extended family.

Extended Family

Our extended family is very diverse and we LOVE it! Kourtni’s dad is African American and her mom is Caucasian. They live in Michigan along with her younger brother. Kourtni’s older brother lives in New Mexico with his wife and daughter. We enjoy Face Timing with them every week. Kourtni’s dad’s side of the family still lives in Michigan and we get together with them several times each year.

Josh is the second oldest of 6 kids, with siblings and spouses living in Washington state, Michigan, Iowa, Texas, and South Africa. Josh’s parents also live in Washington and enjoy keeping in touch with their 15 (and counting) grandchildren. Josh, too, is part of a multicultural family with relatives from India, South Africa, the Philippines, and Nigeria, including three unique adoption stories. Needless to say, our baby will be welcomed with open arms!

Our home/community
Our home is situated at the end of a quiet cul-de-sac where the kids can ride bikes and play with friends. We have a large fenced-in backyard where the kids can run through the sprinkler or pick fruit from one of our 6 fruit trees. Our schools are top rated and are within walking distance of our home, as are the neighborhood pool and playground. We have fantastic neighbors who know us well. We love being a part of an ethnically diverse community that always has something going on, from farmer’s markets to library activities to county fairs.

Thank you
We want to welcome your child into our close-knit family. Your child will be so cherished and loved by the five of us! We will devote our lives to providing your child with all of the love, joy, and security that we can offer. Your child with have an understanding of where he/she came from, the immense love you have shown, and an appreciation of your selfless sacrifice. We have the utmost respect and admiration for you! Thank you for considering us to be your child’s forever family.

Please contact us anytime at or contact our adoption counselor, Tobi Ehrenpreis by text 847-366-6351 or email

God bless,
Kourtni and Josh